2017 Cassowary Awards Categories

There are eight Award categories including the Young Cassowary Award. Description and guidance on the type of contributions recognised in each category is provided below to assist nominators in their submissions.

CATEGORY 1:     Thorsborne Award for Community Conservation and Rehabilitation

This category recognises those who have contributed to the improvement of the natural values of the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area. This category may include neighbours or landholders in the World Heritage Area, and community groups or individuals who rehabilitate and protect the fauna, flora and other natural landscape elements of the World Heritage Area.

CATEGORY 2:     Tourism and Presentation

This category recognises those who have contributed positively to tourism and presentation of the World Heritage Area. This includes promoting the Area’s values within and outside of the industry, and providing information or interpretive products that benefit the industry. It also includes the contributions of visitor centres in promotion and interpretation of the World Heritage Area.

CATEGORY 3:     Innovation

Recognising original, inventive and creative contributions and achievements that have improved or advanced understanding and management of the World Heritage Area. This category can include those who have carried out innovative research, developed applications, or applied other programs or technologies in new ways to present or manage World Heritage values.

CATEGORY 4:     Education

This category recognises individuals or groups, such as community-based educators or university and school staff, who go above and beyond their role to facilitate active learning by imparting exceptional understanding and appreciation of the World Heritage Area. Their work may include developing school programs, facilitating and supporting research projects, or teaching the skills required to contribute to, advocate for and promote awareness of the World Heritage Area.

CATEGORY 5:     People Country Culture

This category recognises Rainforest Aboriginal peoples’ initiatives throughout the World Heritage Area. It includes enterprise development and innovation, commitment to looking after their country, and interpretation and presentation of the cultural and natural values of the World Heritage Area. Nominations can include: Rainforest Aboriginal people or groups working on country, tourism related enterprises, enterprises that promote livelihoods for Rainforest Aboriginal people, and individuals who contribute to the active participation of Rainforest Aboriginal people in the management of the Area.

CATEGORY 6:     Community Champions

This category recognises those who provide an inspiration to others with their commitment and hard work advocating for the World Heritage Area. This includes championing solutions and raising the profile of issues affecting the well-being of the World Heritage Area.

CATEGORY 7:     Local Government and Industry Initiatives

This category recognises the contributions of local government, infrastructure service providers and industry in the Wet Tropics region. It includes significant contributions to sustainable land use planning and practices, natural resource management, infrastructure provision and public campaigns in and around the World Heritage Area.

CATEGORY 8:     Young Cassowary Award

This category is specifically for young people of school age (individuals, groups or classes) to recognise the outstanding environmental work they do, whether that be at school or within clubs and communities. Examples of projects the nominees may be recognised for include: rainforest tree planting, science experiment/research project, weed control, rubbish collection, multimedia/arts, endangered species awareness, and profiles on Wet Tropics plants or animals. 

Share Connect Protect