Honour roll

Since 1999 the Wet Tropics Management Authority’s Cassowary Awards have recognised recipients from a range of backgrounds including farmers, scientists, conservationists, artists and tour operators.

The diverse award recipients have all made an exceptional effort towards the protection and management of the World Heritage Area, often devoting many years of their life to their passion.

Honour Roll 


John Donaghy – Wet Tropics Neighbour

Anna Graham – Nature Based Tourism

Ernie Grant – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Skyrail – Nature-based Tourism

Margaret Thorsborne – Community Conservation

Nigel Tucker – Government

Errol Wiles – Wet Tropics Neighbour

Joan Wright (dec) – Community Conservation



Bamanga Bubu Ngadimunku Rangers – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

George Patterson Bates – Philanthropy

Bill Cooper (dec) – Arts

C4 – Mission Beach – Community Conservation

Sue Fairley – Wet Tropics Neighbour

Mark Heaton – Government

Aila Keto – Conservation Advocacy

Virginia McGrath – Unsung Hero

Chris Rossi – Rural Landholder

Max Shepherd – Nature-based Tourism

Geoff Tracey (dec) & Len Webb (dec) – Science / Conservation



Alexandra Bay School – Community Conservation

Sibby Bresolin – Government

George Davis (dec) – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Hazel Douglas (dec) – Nature-based Tourism

Sally Driml – Science

Rosemary Hill – Conservation Advocacy

George Mansford – Unsung Hero

Peter Stanton – Science



John Courtenay – Nature-based Tourism

Andrée Griffin (dec) – Arts

Graham Harrington – Community Conservation

Tony Irvine (dec) – Science

Davey Lawrence (dec) & Girramay Elders – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Annabelle Olsson – Unsung Hero

Ernie Raymont & Ngadjon–Jii Elders – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

John Winter – Landholder



Dr Joan Bentrupperbaumer – Science

Ruth Berry – Arts

Russell Boswell – Nature-based Tourism

Ruth Lipscombe (dec) – Community Conservation

Charles Morganson – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Rupert Russell – No category

Dr George Skeene OAM – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Janeene Wallwork – Neighbour



Helen Adams (dec) – Unsung Hero

Maisie Barlow (dec) – Arts

Jax Bergersen – Community Conservation

Milton Brim (dec) – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Margit Cianelli – Unsung Hero

Russell Fry – Neighbour

Dr Mike Hopkins – Science

Terry and Cathy Maloney – Nature-based Tourism

Allen Sheather – Community Conservation

Bill Sokolich – Government



Shayne Allanson – Government

Willie Brim – Nature–based Tourism

Stanley Breeden – Arts

Daintree Discovery Centre – Wet Tropics Neighbour

Dr Andrew Graham – Science

Allison Halliday – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Bob Jago – Community Conservation

Victor Maund – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Jenny Maclean – Community Conservation

Steve Russell – Unsung Hero

Wonga Beach State School – Young Cassowary



Bloomfield River State School – Young Cassowary Award

Marcus and Tiffanie Bulstrode – Wet Tropics Neighbour

Daintree Rainforest Foundation – Community Conservation

Dawn and Cliff Frith – Arts

Assoc. Prof. Betsy Jackes – Science

Deborah Pergolotti – Unsung Hero

Ravenshoe Visitor Centre – Conservation Education

Phil Rist – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Annie Wonga – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture



Frederick Michna – Young Cassowary Award

Tim Anderson – Unsung Hero

Sandy Clague – Conservation

Wendy Cooper – Science

Bruce Corcoran – Community Conservation

Kym Dungey & Jane Whytlaw – Nature-based Tourism

Eastern Kuku Yalanji Negotiating Team – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Les Jackson – Government

David Leech & Wally Coutts – Community Conservation

Peta and Jon Nott – Wet Tropics Neighbour



Leonard Andy – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Mike Berwick – Conservation

Daryl Dickson – Arts

Angela and Peter Freeman – Nature Based Tourism

Hambledon State School – Young Cassowary Award

Barbara Lanskey – Community Conservation

Stella Martin – Government

Neville Simpson – Education

Linda Venn – Unsung Hero

Walker Family Tours – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Dr Steve Williams – Science

Wonga Beach State School – Young Cassowary



Kuku Yalanji Dreamtime Tours – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Oliver Schreiber (Wooroonooran Safaris) – Nature–based Tourism

John Beasley (dec) – Community Conservation

Keith McDonald – Government

Sandra Charlton – Education

Pam Tully – Unsung Hero

Prof. Nigel Stork & Prof. Steve Turton – Science

Mike Prociv – Arts

Peter Salleras – Wet Tropics Neighbour

Gordonvale State School (Excelsior Program) – Young Cassowary Award



Mike Trenerry – Arts

Tableland National Park Volunteers – Community Conservation

Tina Alderson – Government

Keith and Lindsay Fisher – Nature-based Tourism 

Suzanne Smith – Neighbour & Landholder

Prof. Richard Pearson – Science

John (dec) and Elaine Ridd – Unsung Hero

Vince Mundraby (dec) – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Feluga State School – Young Cassowary Award



Peter Ogilvie – Government

Alan Gillanders – Community Conservation

Cairns and Far North Environment Centre (CAFNEC) – Community Conservation

School of Field Studies – Education

Margaret Moorhouse – Unsung Hero

Margaret Freeman – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Peter Hitchcock – Outstanding contribution

CSIRO Aust. Trop. Rainf.  Plants – Science

Steven Nowakowski – Arts

Millaa Millaa State School – Young Cassowary Award



Rhonda Brim – Rainforest Aboriginal Culture

Dave Hudson – Conservation

Keith Smith – Government

Helen Underwood – Education

Gordonvale State School and Gordonvale State High School (Excelsior Program) – Young Cassowary Award



Kuranda Envirocare Conservation & Rehabilitation —Thorsborne Award for community conservation

Malanda Falls Visitor Centre – Tourism & presentation

Australian Quoll Conservancy – Innovation

Dr Miriam Goosem – Education

Jabalbina Ranger Program – Rainforest Aboriginal People - Our Country

Peter Rowles – Community champions

Douglas Shire Council (Planning Framework) – Local government

JCU Sustainability Club – Young Cassowary Award

Chair's Award – Ron and Pam Birkett

Full details on 2016 winners here.

Share Connect Protect