2017 Cassowary Awards nominations closed 8 September

Nominations for local heroes for the 2017 Cassowary Awards have now closed. The awards acknowledge and celebrate deserving community members, groups, organisations and schools for their outstanding contributions to the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area.

Executive Director of the Wet Tropics Management Authority Board, Mr Scott Buchanan said, "The prestigious Cassowary Awards have attracted numerous nominations across eight categories in 2017."

Since 1999, the Cassowary Awards have recognised more than 140 people doing outstanding work in the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area, which stretches between Cooktown in the north and Townsville in the south.

The Awards will showcase Wet Tropics champions through eight categories:

1. Community Conservation and Rehabilitation
2. Tourism and Presentation
3. Innovation
4. Education
5. People Country Culture
6. Community Champions
7. Local Government and Industry Initiatives
8. Young Cassowary Award

Alberto Vale of the Australian Quoll Conservancy, the 2016 Innovation Award winner, said they were glad to be nominated for the Cassowary Awards.

"Our work is all about the quolls, not for any commendation, but ultimately it was a great feeling to be recognised for our efforts, our passion and our dedication to saving quolls in the World Heritage Area," Mr Vale said.

Nominations for the Award categories closed on 8 September 2017 and Award winners will be announced at a gala ceremony in Cairns on 25 November.

Information about Award categories can be found here.


2017 Cassowary Awards nominations closed 8 September

Published: 01st Sep 2017

Share Connect Protect