Action 3.2: Support our statutory committees and non-statutory committees to empower them to participate in decision making

The issue to be addressed

There are two statutory committees that provide advice to the Wet Tropics Management Authority Board of Directors (the board): a Community Consultative Committee (CCC) and a Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). The Authority can also establish non-statutory committees, such as reference and working groups, to address threats to the World Heritage Area and/or to address other community issues. These groups comprise of members of agencies, interest groups, Rainforest Aboriginal People, the community, and/or subject matter experts, who will collaborate to plan, develop, guide and implement targeted actions. Current groups include the Yellow Crazy Ant Eradication Program Steering Committee and Reference Group, Indigenous Advisory Members, Traditional Owner Leadership Group and the Cassowary Recovery Team.

Action we will take

The Authority will:

  • support good governance and decision making through providing secretariat support to all committees
  • regularly seek feedback from committees on how to improve their operation
  • ensure engagement with committees is meaningful and purposeful
  • seek advice from committees on key and emerging issues, to inform decisions and directions of the board.

Share Connect Protect