Board of Directors

The Wet Tropics Management Authority Board of Directors (the Board) is established under the Wet Tropics World Heritage Protection and Management Act 1993. The Wet Tropics Ministerial Forum comprises the Commonwealth and Queensland Ministers with responsibility for the respective environment portfolios.


The Board consists of seven directors, including an executive director. The chair of the Board and an Aboriginal director are nominated by the Wet Tropics Ministerial Forum. Two directors are nominated by the Queensland Government and two by the Australian Government—Commonwealth legislation requires that at least one Australian Government nominee is an Aboriginal person. 

These six directors are appointed by the Queensland Governor-in-Council for a term of up to three years and serve on a part-time basis. The Executive Director of the Authority is a full-time, non-voting Board director. 

The Wet Tropics Management Authority Board’s key function is to implement programs to meet Australia’s international obligations for the World Heritage Area under the World Heritage Convention. Persons are qualified for appointment as directors if they have qualifications or extensive experience in a field related to the Authority’s functions.


The Wet Tropics Management Authority Board generally meets quarterly. In addition to advice from the executive director, the Board receives advice from advisory committees and liaison groups that it appoints and through wider community engagement processes.                


Chrissy Grant, Chair of the Wet Tropics Management Authority Board of Directors
Photographer: WTMAMs Chrissy Grant—Chairperson

Ms Chrissy Grant is an Eastern Kuku Yalanji woman who has national and international experience working in issues of World Heritage, Indigenous Peoples, natural and cultural management and biological diversity. She is also currently the Chairperson and Foundation Member of the UNESCO’s International Indigenous Forum on World Heritage. 

Robin Clark, Board DirectorMs Robin Clark—Director

Ms Robin Clark has extensive experience in urban and regional planning, environmental and coastal planning, and natural resource management. She is now retired, and most recently worked for the Queensland Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning as the Regional Director, Planning, Northern Region. Ms Clark has a Bachelor of Science (Honours) and a Masters of Environmental Science. She has over 30 years' experience in state government, particularly in community engagement on major planning projects in Far North Queensland.

Wet Tropics Management AuthorityDr Sally Driml—Director 

Dr Sally Driml has a strong background and experience in policy and economics applied to environmental management, eco-tourism and protected areas She is currently an honorary senior lecturer and researcher at the University of Queensland. Dr Driml has more than 30 years of varied experience researching and working across issues such as climate change, protected area management and  tourism in the Wet Tropics region and other significant areas in Queensland and Australia. She has strong industry links and takes a proactive and collaborative approach. Dr Driml is the chair of the Authority's Community Consultative Committee. 

William Enoch-Tranby, Board DirectorMr William Enoch-Tranby—Director

Mr William Enoch-Tranby, a Djabugay and Yidinji man, has more than a decade’s experience promoting the Wet Tropics nationally and internationally and has received multiple tourism industry awards for developing and delivering cultural tourism experiences. Mr Enoch-Tranby has previous experience sitting on the Tourism Tropical North Queensland Indigenous Tourism Positioning Advisory Committee, the Tourism Tropical North Queensland Indigenous Steering Committee, the Queensland Rail First Nations Steering Committee and was the first Indigenous person inducted into the Queensland Young Tourism Leaders Program.

Ailsa Lively, Board Director
Photographer: WTMAMs Ailsa Lively—Director

Ms Alisa Lively is a widely respected Gunggandji woman with strong cultural connections to both the Wet Tropics and Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Areas. Ms Lively has been involved in significant community development and leadership work with the Yarrabah community and is a skilled advocate for improved land management, tourism, health and social outcomes. She has broad experience across Indigenous organisations, local government and community initiatives, with strong governance and community leadership skills. 

Stephen Williams, Board DirectorProfessor Stephen Williams—Director

Professor Stephen Williams is a rainforest ecologist whose work has focused on understanding biodiversity, assessing the vulnerability of natural ecosystems to global change and using this knowledge to maximise the positive benefits of natural resource management and policy. He has over 30 years of field research experience in the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area and has led a diverse range of initiatives within the region, across Australia and internationally. He also has a strong record of working collaboratively with First Nations peoples.


In March 2021, the Board agreed to a series of strategic priorities for 2021–2024 which support the achievement of outcomes set out in the Wet Tropics Strategic Plan 2020–2030. 

In September 2022, the Board released a position statement regarding wind farm development adjacent to the Wet Tropics of Queensland World Heritage Area.

In June 2023, the Board released a position statement regarding a First Nations Voice to Parliament.

Wet Tropics Board minutes:

Wet Tropics Board Communiqués:

Ministerial forums

  • Wet Tropics Ministerial Forum No 27 Communiqué  July 2017 
  • Wet Tropics Ministerial Forum No 26 Communiqué November 2016


Share Connect Protect