Cassowary Award Nominations extended

The Wet Tropics Management Authority’s Annual Cassowary Awards  will be held on 1 March 2014, not 9 November as previously advertised. For this reason we are delighted to announce that nominations for the Cassowary Awards are open until 31 October 2013.

The Wet Tropics Management Authority recognises those individuals and groups who do outstanding work for the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area. Awards are presented each year to adults and to young people at a gala event.

Cassowary Award recipients continue to remind us of the importance the community make to the World Heritage Area, 25 years on from its listing on 9 December 1988.

For example, one of the region’s most inspirational artists William Cooper was awarded a Cassowary Award in 2000. Since his award, Mr Cooper has continued to showcase some of the natural wonders of the Wet Tropics through his extraordinary talents. His long anticipated exhibition of paintings ‘Guided by Nature’ will be on show from 3 – 29 September at the Tableland Regional Gallery, Atherton.

Wet Tropics Management Authority acting executive director Paul Chantrill said, "We are delighted that our Cassowary Award recipients continue to be active within the wider community. Mr Cooper’s contributions to the arts and nature is legendary. I recommend that everyone interested in getting up close to this exquisite artistic collection go along to Mr Cooper’s exhibition."

Find out how to nominate

Cassowary Award Nominations extended

Published: 26th Aug 2013

Share Connect Protect