Cassowary Awards nominations now open!

The coveted Cassowary Awards are returning on 8 October 2022 and the Wet Tropics Management Authority is calling out to the community to nominate its Wet Tropics champions.

The 19th Cassowary Awards will be held at Tjapukai Now and nominations for its nine award categories are open until 17 July 2022.

Executive Director of the Authority Scott Buchanan said: “The Cassowary Awards recognise our Wet Tropics community and the efforts of organisations and individuals to conserve, present and protect the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area.”

“The big difference this year is that we are encouraging people to self-nominate to get their important work recognised.”

“We are seeking nominations from across the community— innovators, educators, young people including Rainforest Aboriginal People—so we can celebrate the integral work of these local champions.”

The Wet Tropics Management Authority’s Cassowary Awards have been held since 1999 and has become a prestigious event on the FNQ calendar.

The nine categories members of the public can nominate themselves or others for are:

  • Thorsborne Award for Community Conservation and Rehabilitation

  • Tourism and Presentation

  • Innovation and Research

  • Education

  • People. Country. Culture.

  • Peter Hitchcock Community Champion Award

  • Government and Industry Initiatives

  • Climate Change Leadership

  • Young Cassowary Award

Winners from the 18th Cassowary Awards (held in June 2021) included Tropical Mountain Plant Science Collaboration, Tablelands Regional Council Community Revegetation Nursery, Kuranda Visitor Information Centre and Mission Beach State School. The Chair’s Award went to Tourism Tropical North Queensland

Find out more information about the Cassowary Awards, or nominate now!

Nominations close 17 July 2022.

Cassowary Awards nominations now open!

Published: 23rd May 2022

Share Connect Protect