Community Consultative Committee 

Community Consultative Committee members are appointed by the Wet Tropics Management Authority Board. 

Committee members contribute their views and provide advice to the Wet Tropics Management Authority’s Board on relevant World Heritage issues.

The Committee comprises of individuals who have relevant sector or community networks. The committee holds diverse knowledge of the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area, is involvement in community issues and has the capacity to be the conduit for information flow between the community and the Authority. 

2019–2022 Community Consultative Committee 

Wet Tropics Management Authority

Dr Sally Driml 

Chair of the Community Consultative Committee

Wet Tropics Management Authority Board Director 

Dr Sally Driml has a strong background and experience in policy and economics applied to environmental management, eco-tourism and protected areas She is currently an honorary senior lecturer and researcher at the University of Queensland. Dr Driml has more than 30 years of varied experience researching and working across issues such as climate change, protected area management and  tourism in the Wet Tropics region and other significant areas in Queensland and Australia. She has strong industry links and takes a proactive and collaborative approach. 

Wet Tropics Management Authority

Dr Jamie Oliver 

Dr Jamie Oliver has more than 40 years of experience as a research scientist, environmental manager, and research manager at James Cook University, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and the Australian Institute of Marine Science. Dr Oliver chaired the Steering Committee for the International Coral Reef Action Network for several years and has an excellent knowledge of the role of science (including community-based citizen science) in management of protected areas. Since 2018 he has been President of the Paluma & District Community Association. Dr Oliver brings a wealth of experience from the local to the international level in World Heritage Area management.

Wet Tropics Management Authority

Dr Sigrid Heise-Pavlov

Dr Sigrid Heise-Pavlov is the Professor for Rainforest Ecology at The School for Field Studies (SFS).  Since 2008 Sigrid has taught rainforest ecology to countless students and led numerous research projects on rainforest mammals and the development of restoration sites and their colonisation by fauna. Sigrid has been working with local Tablelands NGOs such as Trees for Evelyn and Atherton Tablelands (TREAT) and the Tree Kangaroo and Mammal Group (TKMG) and believes that strong connections between community groups, conservation minded community members, government agencies and scientific institutions are essential to conserve the unique natural assets of the Wet Tropics in perpetuity.

Wet Tropics Management Authority

Ellie Bock 

Ellie Bock has been involved in Wet Tropics issues for more than 18 years as a resident, neighbour, advocate and consultant. Residing in the southern Wet Tropics, Ellie is an experienced freelance environmental services and land-use consultant, facilitator and land and sea management planner. She has worked closely with Rainforest Aboriginal Peoples for many years, and through her personal and professional networks has gained deep insight into their aspirations for collaborative management of country across the region. Ellie’s passion for ensuring the World Heritage Area’s diverse native species and unique biosphere prevail for the benefit of all future generations, confirms her capacity to contribute positively to the Community Consultative Committee.

Wet Tropics Management Authority

Alan Gillanders 

Alan Gillanders is a highly-respected and recognised nature guide and environmental educator. Based in Yungaburra on the Tablelands, Alan’s involvement in Wet Tropics conservation predates the 1988 listing. Alan has extensive Wet Tropics biodiversity knowledge and has been instrumental in supporting conservation efforts within the World Heritage Area through his roles in Trees for Evelyn and Atherton Tablelands (TREAT), the Tree Kangaroo and Mammal Group (TKMG), Mabi Forest Recovery Team, Tablelands National Parks Volunteers and BirdLife Australia.