Prior to each awards ceremony, the Wet Tropics Management Authority Board seeks nominations from partners, stakeholders and the public. Awards are given to individuals and/or groups, organisations and schools and include both adults and young people (the Young Cassowary Award).

Award categories

There are nine Award categories, including the Young Cassowary Award. Guidance on the type of contributions recognised in each category is provided below to assist nominators in their submissions.

Nominees may be nominated for more than one category. Only one Award is given for each category.

Selection of Cassowary Award recipients

Young Cassowary Award

In relation to the conservation of the local environment:

  • What has the nominee/s achieved?
  • How has the nominee/s demonstrated creativity, innovation and leadership?
  • How has the nominee/s contributed to the local and broader community?
  • What were the challenges faced by the nominee/s in reaching their achievements, and if any, how did the nominee overcome these? 

Additional information presented in a video, PowerPoint presentation or a written report with photos may be provided to support the nomination and explain the project.


Criteria for all other categories

In relation to the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area and its values:

  • How does the nominee demonstrate excellence in their field?
  • How long has the nominee been working in their field of interest?
  • How does the nominee demonstrate creativity, innovation, and leadership?
  • What were the challenges faced by the nominee in reaching their achievements, and, if any, how did the nominee overcome these? 


Previous recipients and nominees

Previous nominees, including previous award recipients, man be renominated. You can find the list of previous recipients here. Where a previous recipient of a Cassowary Award is nominated, contributions and achievements will be considered if:

  • they are of a different nature to those recognised by the previous Award. In this case, such contributions and achievements could have occurred prior to receiving the previous Award and may or may not have continued up to date
  • they are a continuation of contributions and achievements previously recognised by the previous Award. However, only the contributions and achievements made since receiving the previous Award will be considered.

The Wet Tropics Management Board makes the final selection of nominations that receive the Awards


Ineligible nominations

Staff and board members of the Wet Tropics Management Authority and politicians are ineligible to receive an Award.

Share Connect Protect