Scientific Advisory Committee 

Scientific Advisory Committee members are appointed by the Wet Tropics Management Authority's Board.

Committee members advise the Wet Tropics Management Authority’s Board on scientific research that contributes to the protection, conservation and scientific developments relevant to the Wet Tropics of Queensland World Heritage Area.

The committee comprises of individuals with scientific expertise or knowledge relevant to the biophysical, bio-cultural, economic or sciences, including the nature-based tourism/recreation sciences. 

2016–2019 Scientific Advisory Committee Members

Iain Gordon
Photographer: WTMA

Professor Iain Gordon, Director of WTMA Board

Chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee 

Professor Gordon was appointed Deputy Vice Chancellor of James Cook University in 2015 and brings a genuine passion and commitment for sustainable regional development and harnessing the tropics’ enormous potential through education and research. Professor Gordon previously led the James Hutton Institute (Scotland), focussing on evidence based solutions for the use of land for agriculture whilst maintaining natural resources and ecosystems. He worked with CSIRO from 2003–2010, leading the Davies Laboratory as the lead researcher for CSIRO’s Building Resilient Biodiversity Assets theme and helped establish the Australian Tropical Science Innovation Precinct at JCU in Townsville.

Throughout his career—which spans research, research management and provision of policy advice—he has played an active role in promoting the value of biodiversity and its importance in the provision of ecosystem services and human wellbeing. Over the past 25 years he has gained an international reputation for scientific leadership and research excellence in interdisciplinary approaches, particularly in the context of managing land use to benefit biodiversity and engaging human communities in the management of natural resources including managing major research portfolios on land management to protect the Great Barrier Reef and conserving Australia's biodiversity.

John Herbohn
Photographer: WTMA

Dr John Herbohn
Professor of Tropical Forestry, University of the Sunshine Coast

Dr John Herbohn is the Director of the Tropical Forests and People Research Centre. His research is focussed on reforestation and restoration of tropical areas and spans social, economic, biophysical and policy disciplines. His undergraduate degree was in botany and his PhD was in rainforest ecology. He has also completed postgraduate degrees in accounting and finance and is a Certified Practicing Accountant (CPA).

Dr Herbohn currently leads two large transdisciplinary reforestation research projects in the Philippines and Papua New Guinea. Along with colleagues he is re-establishing the former Queensland Forestry Department permanent plot network in the Wet Tropics, with many plots dating to the 1940s and 1950s. For the past ten years he has also been a non-executive director for two New Zealand plantation companies with forest estates valued at around US$2B, and is passionate about safety and environmental stewardship within the forestry industry.

Susan Laurance

Dr Susan Laurance
Associate Professor, James Cook University

Dr Laurance is an Australian Research Council Future Fellow at James Cook University. She grew up in Cairns, and returned in 2010 after 14 years living and working in tropical forests around the world. Susan is a Research Associate with the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute, Panama and Brazil’s National Institute for Amazonian Research, and is a past president of the Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation.

Her research focuses on the impacts of human land use and climate change on tropical diversity and function. She currently leads a unique experiment exploring the effects of drought on tropical forests at the Daintree. Prior to her post-graduate training, Susan spent seven years working in conservation management at QPWS and WTMA. 

John Locke
Photographer: WTMA

Mr John Locke

Co-Founder, Director & Biocultural Strategist, Biocultural Consulting

Developing a systems approach to his consultancies, John focuses on the importance of cultural DNA (biological, linguistic and cultural strands) that fuses and sustains Indigenous peoples, their living landscapes, and the significance of Indigenous science. His expertise is grounded in Aboriginal Studies (UniSA), and more than a decade in corporate office management positions with the Queensland Environmental Protection Agency and Department of Environment Resource Management, focusing on strategic and on-ground Indigenous engagement and collaborative partnerships. 

In 2014, he achieved a collaborative National Banksia Award (Indigenous Leadership for Sustainability), and in 2016, an inaugural Indigenous Science Panellist at the World Science Festival (Brisbane). 

Suzanne Long

Dr Suzanne Long

Dr Suzanne Long is the Director of Turn the Tide Pty Ltd, Program Director at the Reef and Rainforest Research Centre, and a Fellow of the Peter Cullen Trust. Recently returned to Cairns, for the past ten years she has worked as a knowledge broker in the front line of Australian environmental science, policy and practice for many different organisations in many different parts of the country. Her expertise lies in increasing the rate at which science informs policy and practice, thereby improving long-term outcomes for Australian ecosystems and the communities and economies that depend upon them.

Bruce Prideaux

Professor Bruce Prideaux

Professor Prideaux is the Director of the Centre for Tourism and Regional Opportunities at the Cairns campus of Central Queensland University and is the program director of the Masters of Sustainable Tourism Management. He has a wide range of research interests including tourism in rainforest areas, coral reef tourism, protected area tourism, rural tourism, remote area tourism, indigenous tourism, urban tourism, and climate change.

He has authored over 300 journal articles, book chapters and conference papers on a range of tourism related issues. His most recent book Rainforest Tourism, Conservation and Management: challenges for sustainable development provides a multidisciplinary perspective incorporating rainforest science, management, and tourism issues to argue that sustainability must be the foundation on which tourism uses fragile rainforest ecosystems.

Joann Schmider

Mrs Joann Schmider

Mrs Schmider identifies as a Brooks family, Waribarra Clan woman of Mamu as one of the six tribal groups of Dyirbalngan speaking people of the central southern Wet Tropics. Her Country is from Millaa Millaa to Palmerston and is situated in Wooronooran NP, part of the Johnstone River catchment inputting the Great Barrier Reef lagoon.

Her lifelong passion is two-way understanding and Aboriginal people’s participation in decision making – at local, regional, state and national levels, across the diverse fabric of the nation and its development futures. She brings over 30 years exper