World Heritage in Australia

The 20 World Heritage sites in Australia range from large natural areas to prominent and historical buildings. The Great Barrier Reef and the Wet Tropics of Queensland are both listed for all four natural criteria. Some sites such as Uluru-Kata Tjuta and Kakadu are listed for both natural and cultural values. 

Yirrmikmik, Kakadu National Park
Photographer: Campbell Clarke
Mount Pelion East, Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area
Photographer: John Doherty

Facts and figures

Australia's World Heritage Areas cover 45,815,664ha (>30% of Australia's total protected area). The Great Barrier Reef is the fourth-largest natural World Heritage Area (34,870,000ha) on Earth.

More information

Uluru - Kata Tjuta National Park
Photographer: Campbell Clarke

Share Connect Protect