WTMA Board Meeting

Thursday, 17 Aug 2017

The Wet Tropics Management Authority Board of Directors is established under the Wet Tropics World Heritage Protection and Management Act 1993.

The Board consists of seven directors. Two directors are nominated by the Australian Government and two by the Queensland Government. The Chair and an Aboriginal director are nominated by the Wet Tropics Ministerial Forum1. Commonwealth legislation requires that at least one of the Australian Government nominees is an Aboriginal person. The Executive Director of the Authority is a non-voting Board director, appointed in consultation with the Board. Non-executive directors serve on a part-time basis.

Non-executive directors are appointed by the Queensland Governor-in-Council for a term of up to three years.

Persons are qualified for appointment as directors if they have qualifications or extensive experience in a field related to the Authority’s functions.

The Wet Tropics Board’s key function is to implement programs to meet Australia’s international obligations for the World Heritage Area under the World Heritage Convention.

For more information about the Wet Tropics Board please click here 

WTMA Board Meeting

Share Connect Protect