2019 Cassowary Awards nominations now closed

The Wet Tropics Management Authority welcomes nominations for the 2019 Cassowary Awards.

The Cassowary Awards recognise exceptional contributions to the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area in nine categories:

  • Tourism and Presentation

  • Innovation

  • Education

  • People. Country. Culture. Award

  • Community Champions

  • Local Government and Industry Initiatives

  • Climate Change Leadership

  • Young Cassowary Award 

  • Thorsborne Award for Community Conservation and Rehabilitation

Nominations are open until 18 March for individuals, groups and organisations at wettropics.gov.au/nominate.

Wet Tropics Management Authority Chair, Leslie Shirreffs, said the Cassowary Awards recognised community efforts to conserve, present and protect the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area.

‘The Cassowary Awards honour those outstanding individuals and organisations who apply their passion and skills to protect and showcase the Area.’

‘We are seeking nominations from across the community—including innovators, educators, young people and Rainforest Aboriginal People—so we can celebrate the integral work of these local champions.’

In 2019, the growing threat of climate change to the Area is acknowledged with the addition of a new category: the Cassowary Award for Climate Change Leadership.

‘The new Cassowary Award for Climate Change Leadership recognises the growing importance of research and on-ground action to deal with the impacts of climate change on the Area,’ she said.

Past Cassowary Award recipients include the late environmental pioneer Margaret Thorsborne, Rainforest Aboriginal Elder Dr George Skeene OAM and Distinguished Professor Bill Laurance.

Ms Shirreffs said the Cassowary Awards aimed to foster public awareness of the contributions made each year by the Wet Tropics community.

‘Each year’s field of nominees is full of passionate and dedicated local people making meaningful contributions to ensure that the Area is managed for today, as well as for future generations’, she said.

‘If you know someone whose work in the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area inspires you—please nominate them for a Cassowary Award.’

Nominations close on Monday 18 March; finalists and recipients will be honoured at a gala ceremony in Cairns on 15 June 2019.

2019 Cassowary Awards nominations now closed

Published: 19th Feb 2019

Share Connect Protect